UPDATE: The Hotel Plaza in Camden is coming down

In November of 2010 I wrote a post about this great hotel in Camden, The Hotel Plaza.  Even the name is great, it’s like when you add the noun before the name somehow it sounds fancier. Seriously, The Hotel Plaza vs. The Plaza Hotel.  Or like Applebee’s Restuarant vs. The Restaurant Applebee’s.  I almost feel like I need a monocle and a top hat to even talk about this place.

Unfortuantely, regardless of how fancy The Hotel Plaza used to be, we all know what Camden is like now and there is no need for fancy hotels.

I got an update from a reader the other day informing me that demolition had started on The Hotel Plaza. He forwarded me the pictures below, thanks Mike!  Yet another great building and tie to our past that’s lost.

The Hotel Plaza Demo

Demolition of The Hotel Plaza, Camden. ©Michael Burke.

The Hotel Plaza Demo 1

Demolition of The Hotel Plaza, Camden. ©Michael Burke.

The Hotel Plaza Demo 2

Demolition of The Hotel Plaza, Camden. ©Michael Burke.

About sbethy

I have three college degrees including a Masters in Historic Preservation. Since many people aren't hiring preservationists right now I thought this would be a great outlet to document and hopefully publicize amazing buildings that I believe need attention. Originally from NY and currently living in NJ just over the bridge(s) from Philadlephia most of the places I'll feature will be in these areas. If anyone reading this has any buildings they are curious about or love and want to share, let me know and I'll do a little research, take some photos and you'll see the building highlighted. You'll see that I don't tend to focus on pretty buildings that have been perfectly restored. I tend to be drawn to ones that are more in a state of disrepair or are clearly underutilized. There is something about that aesthetic that I am drawn to and makes me wonder about its history- what was it's function, who worked/lived there, who built it, what happened to it, can it be saved? Also, whenever possible I am going to use all my own photography since I love taking photos as well.
This entry was posted in building, historic preservation, New Jersey and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

